Host and organisers

Below you will find:

Conference hosts
Conference organisers
Conference manager
Conference track directors
Scientific committee: Academic panel
Scientific Committee: Practitioner/policy panel


Conference hosts


Big Innovation Centre

The Big Innovation Centre is an exciting initiative of The Work Foundation and Lancaster University. It launched in September 2011 to be the vital catalyst in making the UK a global open innovation hub with a world-class innovation ecosystem and a re-balanced and growing economy. It is unique in its approach, bringing together some of the world’s leading companies and universities with key institutions from across policy and politics, all united by a commitment to innovation.





Birkbeck Centre for Innovation Management Research

The co-hosts, Birkbeck and UCL, are both world-class research and teaching institutions in the University of London. Birkbeck’s Department of Management has particular research strengths in international business and strategy, the management of innovation and entrepreneurship, human resource management, corporate governance, sport management and marketing, as well as finance and accounting. UCL is among the world's top universities and has given rise to 21 Nobel prize winners. Its centre for entrepreneurship, UCL Advances, is unique in the UK Higher Education sector, promoting a culture of entrepreneurship both on campus and through engagement with entrepreneurs and small businesses beyond UCL's boundaries.


Conference organisers

  • Professor Birgitte Andersen, Director, Big Innovation Centre - The Work Foundation and Lancaster University
  • Tim Barnes, CEO, UCL Advances, University College London, UK
  • Professor Helen Lawton Smith, Director, Centre for Innovation Management Research, Birkbeck, University of London


Conference manager

  • Helen Lawrence, Big Innovation Centre (inquiries about registration, sponsorship and the publishers' exhibition)


Conference track directors

  • Chair of academic panel: Helen Lawton Smith, Birkbeck, University of London, UK
  • Co-chair of practitioner/policy panel: Professor Birgitte Andersen, Director, Big Innovation Centre - The Work Foundation and Lancaster University, UK
  • Co-chair of practitioner/policy panel: Tim Barnes, CEO, UCL Advances, University College London, UK


Scientific Committee: Academic panel

Professor Helen Lawton Smith, Department of Management, Director Birkbeck Centre for Management Research (CIMR), Birkbeck, University of London, UK (Chair of panel)

Mariza Almeida, PhD Adjunct Professor Production Engineering Scholl Federal University of the State of Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Professor Sharmistha Bagchi-Sen, Department of Geography, SUNY Buffalo, USA

Dr Paul Benneworth, Senior Researcher, Center for Higher Education Policy Studies, University of Twente, Netherlands

Professor Edward Bergman, Affiliate Professor and Distinguished Senior Fellow, School of Public Policy, George Mason University, and Emeritierter Ordinarius, Vienna University of Economics and Business Vienna, Austria

Maria Andrea Conteras Nieto, Director (E) Center for Knowledge and Innovation Management Universidad del Rosario Bogotá-Colombia

Professor Mike Danson, School of Management and Languages, Heriot-Watt University, UK

Professor Henry Etzkowitz, Stanford University, USA

Professor Roy Green, UTS, Dean of the Faculty of Business, University of Technology Sydney, Australia

Professor Richard Harrison, Queen's University Management School
Queen's University, Belfast, UK

Professor Colette Henry, Tromso University Business School, Norway

Professor Robert Huggins, Chair of Economic Geography, Cardiff University’s School of City and Regional Planning and Director of the Centre for Advanced Studies Cardiff University, UK

Professor Donato Iacobucci, Universita Politecnica Delle Marche, Italy

Professor Simona Iammarino, Department of Geography, LSE, UK

Professor Claire Leitch, Management Learning and Leadership, Lancaster University, UK

Professor Loet Leydesdorff, Amsterdam School of Communication Research, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Professor Asa Lindholm Dahlstrand, Circle, Lund University, Sweden

Professor José Manoel Carvalho de Mello, Visiting Professor of the Graduate Program in Production Engineering, Research Associate at the Center for Studies in Innovation, Knowledge and Work – NEICT, Brazil

Dr Bill O’Gorman, CEDRE, Waterford Institute of Technology, Ireland

Professor Eoin O’Neill, School of Business, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Professor Martin Meyer, Business and Management, Sussex University, UK

Ronnie Guerra Portocarrero, Coordinador, Sistema Organizacional E-QUIPU, Profesor del curso "Desarrollo Emprendedor", Departamento Académico de Ingeniería, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú, Peru

Dr Federica Rossi, Department of Management, Birkbeck, University of London, UK

Professor Attila Varga, Department of Economics and Regional Studies, Faculty of Business and Economics, University of Pécs, Hungary

Professor Poh Kam Wong, Director, NUS Entrepreneurship Centre and Professor, NUS Business School, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Professor Jarunee Wonglimpiyarat, College of Innovation, Thammasat University, Bangkok, Thailand


Scientific Committee: Practitioner/policy panel

Professor Birgitte Andersen, Big Innovation Centre, UK (Co-chair of panel)

Andrew Atter, Entrepreneur in Residence, BEI School and Visiting Fellow, CIMR, Birkbeck, University of London, UK

Tim Barnes, UCL Advances, University College London, UK (Co-chair of panel)

Tony Clayton, Chief Economist, Intellectual Property Office, UK

Catherine Glossop, Principal Policy Officer for Innovation and the Knowledge Economy, Greater London Authority, UK

Professor John Glasson, Oxford Brookes University, UK

Dr Neil Lee, The Work Foundation, UK

Dr Pierre Nadeau, Lecturer, Department of Management, Birkbeck, University of London, UK

Dr Jackie Parkin, VP Research & Development, GlaxoSmithKlein, UK

Dr Jonathan Potter, Senior Economist, Local Economic and Employment Development (LEED) Programme, Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs and Local Development, OECD, Belgium

Fiona Reid, Oxford University, UK

Stian Westlake, Head of Policy and Research, Nesta, UK

The Triple Helix International Conference Series is an initiative of the Triple Helix Association | Corso Giulio Cesare 4bis/B, Torino, Italy

Triple Helix Conference I Amsterdam, 1996 II New York, 1998 III Rio de Janeiro, 2000 IV Copenhagen, 2002 V Turin, 2005 VI Singapore, 2007 VII Glasgow, 2009 VIII Madrid, 2010 IX Stanford, 2011 X Indonesia, 2012 XI London, 2013
Powered by WordPress
Development by Techbridge WordPress Developers Toronto